Pharaoh gets call up from Iraq


Egyptian midfielder Mohamed Shawky of Baghdad side Al-Naft has claimed in an interview with Iraqfpg.com that Vladimir Petrović had called him up to play for the Iraqi national team.

“Petrović was watching the game with Al-Naft and Al-Najaf, which ended in a 4-1 victory for the Oil club, and my name was not on the list of players who were invited to the ranks of the Iraqi team, he did not know that I was Egyptian, and also Brazilian Zico, he wrote my name in his notebook to invite me, before he was told that I was an Egyptian national.”

The 31-year-old, who has played 67 times for his country, revealed that he still habours hope of playing for Egypt, and realise his dream of playing at the World Cup in Brazil next year.

“I cannot find a reason for being omitted from the Egyptian national team, before coming to Iraq I was playing for the national team, before I had family circumstances especially through the abduction of my brother, and at one time sports was halted in Egypt just after the revolution, and I was playing in the Iraqi league, maybe coach Bob Bradley has received incorrect information of me. I’m sure if Bob Bradley watched games of Al-Naft in the Iraqi league, I would be summoned to the ranks of the Pharaohs, and it stays the biggest dream to play with Egypt at the World Cup, after I have achieved all my other dreams, despite everything I will work hard to return once more to the Pharaohs.”

Leave a Reply

